Kogi Guber: Adeleke ready to deliver Melaye

The Osun State Governor who doubles as Chairman of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) Campaign Council for Kogi State, Senator Ademola Adeleke, has said that all hands must be on deck to deliver Dino Melaye as the next Kogi governor.

The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) has fixed November 11 for Kogi, Bayelsa and Imo States governorship election.

At the inaugural meeting at the party National Secretariat in Abuja, Adeleke said that the easiest way for Melaye to win the election is for all party members in Kogi state to cooperate with him.

Assuring members that PDP is winning the forthcoming governorship election, Adeleke said, “we are marching to victory in the upcoming Kogi State governorship election. This gathering is another step towards our march into the Lord Lugard House, Lokoja.

“Few weeks ago, our national leadership inaugurated the campaign council at this venue. Today, we are inaugurating the sub-committees to take mobilisation and other associated work to the deeper level. I charged all members of the state committee to be committed to the main goal of this assignment.

“Our job is to ensure that our candidate, Senator Dino Melaye, is elected governor of Kogi State in the forthcoming election. So shall it be and it is done. As sub-committee members, we must contribute our areas of mandate to achieve this victory because it is a serious business. If you know you are not ready to sacrifice yourself so that we can get to that Promised Land, nobody is forcing you to be here.

READ MORE  Ewekoro LG boss, Adesina felicitates with Muslims

“But if you are ready to join hands together to take Kogi and move Kogi forward to that Promised Land, I’m bringing you a template that worked in Osun State. I’m bringing you templates of hard work, success story. By so doing, I’m anointing all the members here so that we can get Kogi.

“However, it is God first, if we put God first, everything is possible. I have defeated incumbents several times. If we focus our mind and we have faith and when you have faith, anything can be done. You must first of all believe in what we are doing. If you don’t believe in what we are doing, you have no business here. Dino and I have things in common. I’m from Osun West and Dino is from Kogi West. As it was the turn of the West in Osun State, it is the turn of the West in Kogi State.

“We need peace for the election. We are talking to each other that we must have peace and it’s already accepted. This is democracy. I have already met with Governor Yahaya Bello that we are coming to your state to campaign. Let the best man win. No fighting whatsoever and he has agreed.”

In his remarks, Melaye called for support from all Kogites and party members across the three Senatorial Districts and nine Federal Constituencies to emerge victorious during the November 11 election.

He described himself as the most experienced governorship candidate going into the election while he sought the commitment of party members.

READ MORE  Ooni names HID Awolowo successor, Dosumu new Yeye Oodua

He added that the party will continue with its reconciliatory moves across the three Senatorial Districts through Governor Adeleke.

Chairman of 14-man caretaker committee for the state, Philip Aduda said he would give his best to deliver the party and its candidate during the governorship election.

Aduda, who is the immediate past Senator representing the Federal Capital Territory (FCT), also promised to work with every stakeholder in Kogi State to deliver the party in the November 11 governorship election.

The PDP National Organising Secretary, Umar Bature said that the committee was approved after extensive consultations with the Kogi State Stakeholders by the National Working Committee (NWC) of the party, adding that it was inaugurated following the expiration of the tenure of the then-elected State Working Committee.

While Aduda will serve as the chairman, Hon George Daika will serve as the Secretary. Other members are Hon Joshua Adejoh, Hon Sunday Shigaba, Paul Ukwenya, Hon Gbenga Olorunnipa, Hon MO Sule, Chief Dayo Akande and Hon Siyaka Uchunaye. Audu Idris and Hon Sheidu O Abara, Bilkisu Onusagba, Abiola Olajubu, and Grace Atawodi are also members.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.